Sunday, September 25, 2011

Guidelines for using the Social Media for organizations, including Government of India

Social media policy
Have you made Blog Rules?
Courtesy e-Sakal newspaper (September 25, 2011)

The Social Media Framework for the Government of India has been created to enable government agencies to use these platforms more effectively and reach out to their stakeholders and understand their concerns and hear their voices.  

Staff should not use Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, or similar social media platforms without understanding the  policy guidelines.  It is necessary to assign the work of posting / publishing to trained employees only.  

The  Social Media rules or sometimes referred as "BLOG RULES" comprises of the following six elements:

  1. Objective: Why an agency needs to use social media.
  2. Platform: Which platform/s to use for interaction.
  3. eGovernance: What are rules of engagement?
  4. Communication Strategy: How to interact.
  5. Pilot: How to create and sustain a community.
  6. Engagement Analytic: Who is talking about what, where and what are the main points of conversations.
  7. Institutionalization: How to embed social media in organization structure. 
The word eGovernance does not necessarily imply only the Government, but also private organisations as well.

We have the complete draft policy document (~40 pages) prepared by Department of Information Technology, Ministry of Communications & Information Technology, Government of India.,  let us know if you want to have a look at the same.

Note:  Out of enthusiasm, people have started using digital platforms.  There is a need of professional training.  Therefore, we have started giving training to executives, officers, business-persons, who would like to indulge into the new avatar of the World Wide Web, called Web 2.0.  Email 

1 comment:

Jyotindra Zaveri said...

Please share this important update with your contacts on Facebook, etc., by using the icons provided here.